top of page
Search
Writer's pictureThe Joyful Mentor

The Thrifty Teacher: 5 Tips On How To Save Money In Your Classroom


© 2019 The Joyful Mentor

A common mistake I see a lot of teachers making is how much money they pump into their classrooms straight from their pockets. We can all be taken in by the glitzy classroom décor on different Instagram accounts, but at what cost?


Understandably, school budgets and other environmental factors often take precedent over what teachers can spend on their class. But that doesn’t mean we have to make our students sit through lessons in uninteresting, unattractive spaces.


I have been a thrifty teacher for most of my career (save the first few months when my salary went to unnecessary-but-Instagram-worthy furnishings). There is a wealth of resources out there, we just need to look past a full price tag.


Before I go into these points, it’s important to note that you might have to let go of some of the teaching ideas the social media is sending out. Some of them are not practical in terms of money or time, things that teachers are often short on. Children don’t need all the newest classroom equipment and on-trend furniture. I once thrilled my classroom for a week with just a cardboard box and some cheap electrical tape, but that’s a story for another time!



1. Thrift shops


Thrift shops can have a variety of items ready to reuse, recycle or upcycle. Whenever I started a new project with the children or I wanted to find resources for my classroom, I stopped by a few local thrift shops first. The more I did this, the closer connections I made with the volunteers and workers. It got to the point where I could let them know what I needed and they kept an eye out on the incoming donations, putting them aside for me to purchase – at an even further discount!


Even when I didn’t know the people working in the shops I still found a good deal, including a range of new children’s books, partially used but still good stationery, crockery (then smashed and made into tiling), storage containers, cushions and more. Yard sales are also a great bet, so grab a morning coffee and take a friend to peruse the veritable bounty of bargains.


© 2019 The Joyful Mentor


2. Community


Generally, society is very aware of how teachers struggle financially and yet still funnel their salary back into their classrooms. Reaching out to others in your community, from parents to local organisations, can be a saving grace. You may be surprised how many sympathetic people in your community can help from giving discounts for day trips to donating materials.

Asking for help never came easily to me, but when I did it became clear how much time and money could be saved when collaborating with the parents of my students. From STEAM materials to wearable arts, parents turned up with arms full of all the odds and ends we needed - it got to the point where I had to graciously turn things away! Occasionally I got to know parents who worked in areas such as carpentry or horticulture, which meant I could outsource some projects (and lessons!) to experts. Not only did that help keep costs down, but I also formed deeper and more meaningful connections with others.



3. Nature


Driftwood, leaves, clay, stones, feathers, sand. Go out into nature and put your teacher goggles on. I have brought the outdoors inside for displays, discovery time, art and décor. Elements of nature give a natural, upcycled look to a classroom. It is stimulating for the children to see something other than workbooks and plastic containers. They can marvel at its beauty and be inspired to adventure into the wilderness in their own time. The best part is you can return most of these things back to where they have come from without adding to your ecological footprint.



Children don’t need all the newest classroom equipment and on-trend furniture.


4. Dumpster Diving


Yes, you read that right! But be selective. You don’t want to end up on top of something sharp or smelly! Seriously though, some of my best dumpster ‘dives’ have been when I’ve walked into a store, told them I’m a teacher and explained what I’m looking for. That’s the thing, you need to know what you’re looking for or you’ll end up with more trash than treasure.


Another form of dumpster diving is finding an industrial area on the weekend or at the end of a workday and seeing what they put out on the curbside. I’ve picked up pallet wood for garden planters and old furniture that can be refurbished. Yes, it can take time for these projects but that’s the main cost. A good option for those who are really short on cash.



5. Colleagues


Many teachers find an amazing lesson idea online, go out to buy the resources, put in the planning and deliver to their students. It sounds fine, right? But what isn’t considered is the huge amount of time being put into one lesson out of the many we must plan. And it makes yet another dent in our wallets. So next time an amazing idea pops up, go to the teachers in neighbouring classrooms or online teacher forums and see what they think of it. Maybe they have tried something similar and have the resources themselves. You might hit the jackpot and be given some planning. Don’t reinvent the wheel!


On the flipside, if you don’t already, share your own plans and resources. This creates good faith between colleagues who may become more open and willing to share their own with you.

0 comments

Commenti


bottom of page